Sponsored Post: Average ROI for Self-service UC Management is 845%
Exceptionally high ROI figures for self-service tools make a compelling case for adding this technology to your UC environment.
If you are looking for a quick and easy opportunity to delight your telecom system users while saving real money, take a look at self-service administration. If your users are still calling the help desk or telecom engineers for voice mail password resets, for PBX or voice mail call forwarding and mobility features, or for IP telephone programming, you have an immediate opportunity to make their life easier while capturing some hard-dollar savings. The solution is to implement browser-based user self-service administration of these features, with a simple-to-understand user interface.
Hey, in the world of Amazon, Southwest Airlines, iTunes and smart phone apps, users know how to "help themselves!" So, give them some credit and open up the features they want for self service options. Doing this can help to streamline the user's workflows and also to get the resulting benefits for the business operations. The returns from this move can be pretty tangible. Let's look at the ROI equation.
The equation for the ROI percentage is:
100*((((3Nu *P)*T)/S) -1)
--Nu is the number of tickets per user per year that your help desk is taking right now that are in the category eligible for self-service administration. This is multiplied times 3, so that we have a three-year analysis. A typical range for Nu is from 1 to 4 tickets per user per year.
--P is the percent of these tickets that will convert to self-service. Usually this is a pretty high percentage, say 60% to 80%, since most users will prefer self-service, though some portion will still call the help desk (if, say, they are away from their computers or not on the network).
--T is your enterprise's cost of a simple help desk ticket. Sometimes this is a known number, for example if you have outsourced your help desk on a cost per ticket basis. In other cases, you may need some information from finance and from the ticketing system. A typical range for simple ticket costs is from as low as $10 to as high as $35, with one source reporting $27 per ticket.
--S is the three-year cost for the self-service solution. This includes web servers (usually two virtual machine instances for redundancy), the self-service software licenses, and the implementation and maintenance services. A budgetary three-year cost range for this is $9 to $15 per user.
--The equation is multiplied by 100 to convert it from a fraction to a percentage.
--The "-1" represents the first 100% in the ratio, since we are looking at return after paying back the investment.
Any resulting percentage above the cost of money for your enterprise is a good investment. A percentage that is above 25% is excellent and anything above 100% would be called "compelling" by the chief financial officer (CFO).
Let's do the math for the low and the high end of the ranges mentioned above:
--Low ROI: 100 * ((((3*1*60%)*$10)/$15)-1) = 20% ROI Savings per 1,000 users per year: $1,000.
--High ROI: 100 * ((((3*4*80%)*$35)/$9)-1) = 3,633% ROI Savings per 1,000 users per year: $109,000.
Your own numbers will probably be somewhere between these values. The typical ROI is estimated to be about 845% with a savings of $33,800 per 1,000 users per year.
If all of this captures your attention, then you will want to review a new report on self-service telecom administration from Marty Parker, one of the industry's leading Unified Communications experts. The report includes a foreward by No Jitter Editor Eric Krapf and can be accessed from the No Jitter website HERE.